Support of people with special needs e.V.

Projects in Kenya

Kenia MapAnanse generally works together with the Kenyan non-governmental organisation Salus Oculi Kenya (SOK) in Kenya. This organisation is closely connected with the German relief organisation Deutsches Blindenhilfswerk, however, it is registered in Kenya and consists of four Kenyan employees. Since 1996, SOK has made a special effort for the interests of people who are blind or visually impaired.

The execution of the projects takes place throughout Kenya. These projects always contribute to the life improvement of people who are blind or visually impaired. Besides that, they can be understood as preventive measures that prevent blindness and severe visual impairment.

Ananse has cooperated with SOK for many years. Since 2002, we execute projects to educate children and adolescents who suffer from blindness or visual impairment, which are: further education for teachers, income-generating measures to finance school fees, provision of special learning and teaching materials, measures to integrate blind young adults and people with visual impairments into labour market or construction of support centres in schools.

Ananse e.V. and SOK are in continuous telephone and email contact with each other and meetings take place on a regular basis. In 2011, SOK and Ananse visited the International Braille Congress “Braille21″ to present a paper for Braille (a system of raised dots for blind people) in Kenya.

Support of people with special needs e.V.

Projekte in Kenia

Kenia MapIn Kenia arbeitet Ananse generell mit der kenianischen Nicht-Regierungsorganisation Salus Oculi Kenya (SOK) zusammen. SOK ist eine kleine kenianische Organisation, die eng mit dem Deutschen Blindenhilfswerk verbunden ist. Seit 1996 setzt SOK sich sehr engagiert für die Belange blinder und sehbehinderter Menschen im eigenen Land ein.

Die von SOK durchgeführten Projekte im medizinischen, pädagogischen oder sozialen Bereich sind über ganz Kenia verteilt. Sie tragen immer zur Verbesserung der Lebenssituation blinder und sehbehinderter Menschen bei oder sind als präventive Maßnahmen zur Verhütung von Blindheit und hochgradiger Sehbehinderung zu bewerten.

Ananse kooperiert seit vielen Jahren mit SOK, seit 2002 führen wir gemeinsam Projekte zur Bildung blinder und sehbehinderter Kinder und Jugendlicher durch. Das sind z.B. Lehrerfortbildungen, Einkommen schaffende Maßnahmen, um Schulgelder zu finanzieren, Ausstattung mit blindenspezifischem Lern- und Lehrmaterial, Maßnahmen zur beruflichen Eingliederung blinder und sehbehinderter junger Erwachsener oder den Bau von Förderzentren für blinde und sehbehinderte Kinder an Regelschulen.

Mitglieder von Ananse e.V. reisen regelmäßig nach Kenia, um gemeinsam mit SOK Projekte zu besuchen, zu planen und zu evaluieren; entsprechend besteht kontinuierlicher Telefon- und E-Mail Kontakt.